The Penderwicks: a summer tale of four sisters, two rabbits, and a very interesting boy
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(5)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
The Penderwicks volume 1.
Published:
New York : Random House Children's Books, [2007].
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
262 pages ; 20 cm
Rating:
5.0.
Status:
Description
This series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner andnbsp; New York Times nbsp;bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Over one million copies sold, now with a bright new look! This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel's sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel's owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures. The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will--won't they? One thing's for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget. Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
GCP Rifle Juvenile
J BIR PEN
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780440420477, 0440420474, 9780756977986, 0756977983
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 4.7, 8 Points
Lexile measure:
800

Notes

General Note
"A Yearling book."
General Note
Originally published by Alfred A. Knopf in 2005.
General Note
Sequel : The Penderwicks on Gardam Street.
Description
While vacationing with their widowed father in the Berkshire Mountains, four young sisters, ages four through twelve, share adventures with a local boy, much to the dismay of his snobbish mother.
Target Audience
5.0.
Target Audience
008-012.
Awards
National Book Award, 2005.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Birdsall, J. (2007). The Penderwicks: a summer tale of four sisters, two rabbits, and a very interesting boy. New York: Random House Children's Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Birdsall, Jeanne. 2007. The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy. New York: Random House Children's Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Birdsall, Jeanne, The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy. New York: Random House Children's Books, 2007.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Birdsall, Jeanne. The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy. New York: Random House Children's Books, 2007. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
477f35ef-798f-fd99-d0b5-c91fa63c0fcd
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeOct 11, 2019 11:52:55 AM
Last File Modification TimeOct 11, 2019 11:54:31 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 07, 2019 06:03:12 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02436cam a2200529 a 4500
008070709r20072005nyu    c      000 1 eng  
00520150622072017.1
003DLC
1001 |a Birdsall, Jeanne.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n2004031486
650 0|a Sisters|v Juvenile fiction.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008111274
650 0|a Single-parent families|v Juvenile fiction.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2010112513
650 0|a Vacations|v Juvenile fiction.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2010117632
650 0|a Friendship|v Juvenile fiction.|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008103472
655 7|a Fiction.|2 lcgft|0 http://id.loc.gov/authorities/genreForms/gf2014026339
020 |a 9780440420477|q paperback
020 |a 0440420474|q paperback
020 |a 9780756977986|q PFNL
020 |a 0756977983|q PFNL
05000|a PZ7.B51197|b Pe 2007
08200|a [Fic]|2 23
010 |a 2007277245
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2018.06
995 |a Loaded with m2btab.ltiac in 2017.09
500 |a "A Yearling book."
500 |a Originally published by Alfred A. Knopf in 2005.
500 |a Sequel : The Penderwicks on Gardam Street.
520 |a While vacationing with their widowed father in the Berkshire Mountains, four young sisters, ages four through twelve, share adventures with a local boy, much to the dismay of his snobbish mother.
5210 |a 5.0.
5211 |a 008-012.
586 |a National Book Award, 2005.
264 1|a New York :|b Random House Children's Books,|c [2007]
300 |a 262 pages ;|c 20 cm
385 |n age|a Children|2 lcdgt
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
24514|a The Penderwicks :|b a summer tale of four sisters, two rabbits, and a very interesting boy /|c Jeanne Birdsall.
035 |a (OCoLC)85835233
040 |a DLC|b eng|c DLC|d TnLvILS
948 |a MARCIVE Comp, May 22, 2018
042 |a lcac
948 |a MARCIVE August, 2017
948 |a MARCIVE extract Aug 5, 2017
998 |e -|a gc|a gcr|a gcrju|a mv|a mvcp
907 |a .b49033347
989 |1 .i51558221|b 1100040037589|d mvcpf|g -|m |h 2|x 0|t 0|i 0|j 18|k 080502|o -|a FIC BIR|u 1100040037589mvcpf099FIC BIR189611q20.00
989 |1 .i98654573|b 1220005538841|d gcrju|g -|m |h 3|x 1|t 0|i 2|j 56|k 150826|o -|a J BIR PEN|u 1220005538841gcrju099J BIR PEN561151p$7.99